About Guyana

Guyana is an amazing blend of the Caribbean and South America.

The name Guyana is an Amerindian word meaning “Land of Many Waters”.

Guyana is divided into three counties: Essequibo, Demerara and Berbice; four geographical/natural regions: the interior savannahs, the highland region, the hilly sand and clay area and the low coastal plain; and 10 administrative regions.

Guyana is bordered by Suriname to the east; by Brazil to the south and southwest; by Venezuela to the west; and by the Atlantic Ocean to the north. At 215,000 square kilometers (83,000 sq. mi), Guyana is the third-smallest independent state on the mainland of South America after Uruguay and Suriname. Its population is approximately 770,000, consisting of six (6) ethnic groups – Amerindian, African, East Indian, Portuguese, European and Chinese. Guyana, a member state of the Commonwealth of Nations, is the only South American nation whose official language is English. The main economic activities in Guyana are agriculture (production of rice and Demerara sugar), bauxite mining, gold mining, timber, shrimp fishing and minerals.

In May 2015, ExxonMobil announced a significant oil discovery on the Stabroek Block offshore Guyana. The gross recoverable reserves for the Stabroek block are 3.2 billion barrels of oil-equivalent, making it one of the most significant global finds in recent years. These discoveries have de-risked the basin, which is estimated to contain at least 7 billion oil-equivalent barrels and has resulted in the significant ramping up of exploration activities in other already-allocated off-shore blocs.

Production starts in 2020