Location North Atlantic coast of South America, between latitudes 1 and 9 and longitudes 57 and 61.
Neighbouring countries Suriname to the east, Brazil to the south and southwest, and Venezuela to the west.
Size/Area 214,969km²
Climate Tropical Coast wet season mid-November to mid-January and May to mid-July; interior wet season May to end of August; short rains December; rest of year generally dry. Average temperature 27.5˚C; coastland ranges from 18 to 34˚C; interior ranges from 18 to 40˚C
Status Republic within Commonwealth
Population 769,141 (2010 est.)
Life expectancy 67
Capital Georgetown (population 170,000)
Other main towns/villages Linden, New Amsterdam, Rose Hall, Anna Regina, Bartica, Lethem
Regions 10 Administrative Regions
Counties Essequibo, Demerara and Berbice
Economy Agriculture, timber, fishing, mining
GDP USD 3.7 billion (2017, estimate)
Languages English (official), Creole, Amerindian dialects, Hindi, Urdu
Religion Christian, Hindu, Muslim
Currency Guyana dollar (G$) (for up-to-date rates, go to www.xe.com)
National airport Cheddi Jagan International Airport (CJIA)
International code +592
Time GMT –4
Electrical voltage 110V in Georgetown and lodges; 220V in most other places; three-pin ‘American-style’ plugs
Weights and measures Metric
Flag Green background with red isosceles triangle with left border on left side superimposed on a long, yellow arrowhead with white border
National anthem Dear Land of Guyana
National flower Victoria Amazonica
National bird/animal Hoatzin/Jaguar
National sport Cricket
Public holidays 1 January, 23 February (Republic Day and Mashramani), Good Friday, Easter Monday, 1 May (Labour Day), 5 May (Indian Arrival Day), 26 May (Independence Day), first Monday in July (CARICOM Day), 1 August (Emancipation Day), 25 December, 26 December