About Us

The overarching objective of the High Commission of the Co-operative Republic of Guyana in Canada is to execute and promote the foreign policy objectives of Guyana through the fostering of bilateral relations between the Government and people of Guyana and the Government and people of Canada.

The Mission executes its mandate through the promotion of economic, political and cultural exchanges between Guyana and Canada, while inter alia, providing services to individuals and organizations on behalf of the Registrar General, Department of Immigration and the Guyana Police Force in the issuance of Passports and Visas and the notarizing of Affidavits, Power of Attorney and other Statutory documents.

Representation

In Canada the government of Guyana is represented at the following levels:
1 – The Guyana High Commission in Ottawa
2 – The Consulate General of Guyana in Toronto: http://www.guyanaconsulate.com/
3 – Honorary Consul of Guyana for Manitoba, Canada:
Dr Sandra Sukhan
39 Eagleridge Court, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3Y 1B1
Tel: 204 488-2628 or 204 632-3011

Holidays

Holiday Day Date
New Year’s Day Wednesday 2020-01-01
Family Day (Canada) Monday 2020-02-17
Republic Day* Sunday 2020-02-23
Good Friday Friday 2020-04-10
Easter Monday 2020-04-13
Labour Day Friday 2020-05-01
Victoria Day (Canada) Monday 2020-05-18
Independence Day Tuesday 2020-05-26
Canada Day (Canada) Wednesday 2020-07-01
CARICOM Day Monday 2020-07-06
Civic Holiday (Canada) Monday 2020-08-03
Labour Day (Canada) Monday 2020-09-07
Thanksgiving Day (Canada) Sunday 2020-10-12
Christmas Day Friday 2020-12-25
Boxing Day Saturday 2020-12-26

*Holiday that falls on Sunday will be observed on Monday.