About Us

The overarching objective of the High Commission of the Co-operative Republic of Guyana in Canada is to execute and promote the foreign policy objectives of Guyana through the fostering of bilateral relations between the Government and people of Guyana and the Government and people of Canada.

The Mission executes its mandate through the promotion of economic, political and cultural exchanges between Guyana and Canada, while inter alia, providing services to individuals and organizations on behalf of the Registrar General, Department of Immigration and the Guyana Police Force in the issuance of Passports and Visas and the notarizing of Affidavits, Power of Attorney and other Statutory documents.

Representation

In Canada the government of Guyana is represented at the following levels:
1 – The Guyana High Commission in Ottawa
2 – The Consulate General of Guyana in Toronto: http://www.guyanaconsulate.com/
3 – Honorary Consul of Guyana for Manitoba, Canada:
Dr Sandra Sukhan
39 Eagleridge Court, Winnipeg, Manitoba, R3Y 1B1
Tel: 204 488-2628 or 204 632-3011

Holidays

Holiday Day Date
New Year’s Day Friday 2021-01-01
Family Day (Canada) Monday 2021-02-15
Phagwah Sunday 2021-03-28
Good Friday Friday 2021-04-02
Easter Monday Monday 2021-04-05
Victoria Day (Canada) Monday 2021-05-24
Independence Day Wednesday 2021-05-26
Canada Day (Canada) Thursday 2021-07-01
CARICOM Day Monday 2021-07-05
Civic Holiday (Canada) Monday 2021-08-02
Labour Day (Canada) Monday 2021-09-06
Thanksgiving Day (Canada) Monday 2021-10-11
Youman-Nabi* Monday 2021-10-18
Christmas Day Saturday 2021-12-25
Boxing Day Sunday 2021-12-26

*Holidays that fall on Sunday will be observed on Monday.